Forcefield News

Three Podiums for Forcefield Riders at BSB Second Round

17/04/2012 16:10:00

A week after the drama of the opening round of the British Superbike Championship at Brands Hatch the Forcefield Body Armour supported riders headed for the second round at one of the fastest circuits in the country, Thruxton.

The Forcefield riders were once again on form throughout the weekend scoring three podium places with another win for the awesome Keith Farmer in the Superstock 1000 Championship, the Irishman fresh from his win at Brands was involved in a thrilling race to take the win by 0.1 seconds.

It was all drama in the British Supersport Championship during the two races, one on Saturday and on Sunday. The racing was epic and extremely close with Forcefield riders Sam Warren and Ben Wilson in second and third places on Saturday.

However, the drama unfolded for some of the Supersport riders during Friday practise. Christian Iddon was first to go down, the accident clocked at 155mph on the data logging on impact and he walked away uninjured and went on to finish in sixth and 10th in the two races. The next, only ten minutes later was Deane Brown, he clipped the back of a slower rider and it was registered he crashed at 161mph, despite being taken to the medical centre and then onto hospital the youngster walked away, bruised and battered but otherwise fine.

Brown – “That is without doubt the fastest crash I have ever had, I don’t remember much about it but I know I wasn’t able to avoid hitting the rider in front of me. The Forcefield Body Armour without doubt saved me from having much more serious injuries. I am very sore and bruised but amazingly nothing is broken. Thruxton is the fastest track we go to and I am very lucky to walk away with no serious injuries. I’d like to thank the Forcefield guys for providing me with such awesome kit. I was a bit disappointed they cut my leathers and also Forcefield under garments off me in the medical centre but they are replaceable!!

Iddon – “That was a massive crash I had, I’d got a bit of a tank slapper at the corner before and I had a tow into the following corner not realising my brake pads needed pumping to get them working, I grabbed the brake and there was nothing there. Down I went and it was a big big crash but I walked away luckily without any injuries. The Forcefield Body Armour was mint and kept me safe I didn’t want to test it so early on in the season but I was allowed to race and gained a few Championship points.”

BSB Championship – Thruxton Round 2

Race 1
Position    Rider            Team
12th             Dan Linfoot    Buildbase BMW
14th             Barry Burrell    Buildbase BMW
DNF            Tristan Palmer    GB Moto

Race 2
Position    Rider            Team       
11th             Dan Linfoot    Buildbase BMW
17th             Tristan Palmer    GB Moto
19th             Barry Burrell    Buildbase BMW

British Supersport Race Results

Race 1
Position    Rider            Team       
2nd             Sam Warren    Seton Yamaha
3rd             Ben Wilson    Gearlink Kawasaki
6th             Christian Iddon    Oxford TAG Triumph
DNS            Deane Brown    Appleyards Macadam

Race 2
Position    Rider            Team
5th             Ben Wilson    Gearlink Kawasaki
10th             Christian Iddon    Oxford TAG Triumph
DNF            Sam Warren    Seton Yamaha
DNS            Deane Brown    Appleyards Macadam

British 125 Championship Race Results – BRANDS RE RUN

Position    Rider            Team
10th             Bradley Hughes    Brad H Racing

British 125 Championship Race Results - THRUXTON

Position    Rider            Team       
11th             Bradley Hughes    Brad H Racing

Superstock 1000's Race Results

Position    Rider            Team
1st             Keith Farmer    PBM Kawasaki
7th             Adam Jenkinson    Padgetts Honda
8th             Danny Buchan    CN Racing
DNS            Gary Johnson    Honda
DNS            Gary Beardsley    GTB Racing

Superstock 600's Race Results

Position    Rider                 Team
4th             Johnny Blackshaw     Smiths Triumph
5th             Ben Burke         Seton Yamaha
6th             Josh Wainwright         AP Kawasaki
13th             Bjorn Estment         Seton Yamaha
15th             Mark Wilkinson         Seton Yamaha

Tested • Proven • Trusted